Europacable General Assembly approves leadership handover

The 2014 Europacable General Assembly on 24 June saw changes in leadership Mr. Valerio Battista, CEO of Prysmian Group, was elected new Europacable President to succeed Mr. Frédéric Vincent, Chairman and CEO of Nexans; Mr. Pascal Portevin, Senior Corporate Executive VP of Nexans, was elected new Chairman of the Europacable Executive Board following Mr. Fabio Romeo, Chief Strategy Officer of Prysmian Group, who has lead the Executive Board since its foundation.

Speaking at the Europacable General Assembly, Mr. Battista applauded the achievements under the Presidency of his predecessor: “M. Vincent took on the challenge to establish what we like to call “Europacable New”: the direct representation of Europe ́s leading wire and cable manufacturers through our team in Brussels. 4 years on, and thanks to his guidance, we are today well connected to our key EU partners. I look forward to even further increasing our visibility.”

Mr. Portevin, newly elected Chairman of the Executive Board stated: “The European Wire & Cable industry provides Europe with the means to build a future proof infrastructure as the basis for competitiveness. This is true for the energy infrastructure (the grids) where interconnections will ensure a real European electricity market for the benefit of society and an industry which has to compete on a global level. This is also true for the telecommunication and data infrastructures that will give Europe the competitive edge for the future. Under my leadership, the Executive Board of Europacable will ensure that our industry is heard by the European decisions makers who need to better understand that a European manufacturing basis for wires and cables is vital for our economies.”